Home Body - Mind - Wellness Health and Fitness

Cracks/splits at side of mouth

POST A REPLY

May 17, 2007, 4:21pm   #1
Founder of B.U.M.
Well, I still have the cold sore under my nose - albeit only red now. But, for about a year, I have been suffering with painful, red cracks/splits at the side of my mouth. Not ALL the time, but more often than not they will appear - where the lips meet at the sides.

I have tried everything I can think of: Blisteze Healing cream, Blisteze Moisturising Cream, Vaseline, Kamillosan (Marigold ointment), Manuka Honey, Aloe Vera gel and Aloe Vera with Vaseline, various heavy duty creams for eczema (I don't have eczema elsewhere) and even cream for Thrush!!

Nothing works, I just have to wait it out - usually a good couple of weeks.

There is no pattern - not associated with the weather etc.

Is there anything anyone can suggest - please? I am really sick of this

p.s. The are definitely NOT coldsores. I am an expert on what a coldsore looks and feels like!

Help!
May 17, 2007, 4:27pm   #2
sounds like you have vitamin/mineral deficiencies especially Zinc
May 17, 2007, 4:38pm   #3
Founder of B.U.M.
Originally Posted by Label Addict
sounds like you have vitamin/mineral deficiencies especially Zinc
Thanks Label Addict, but meant to mention, I take multivits and a separate high dose Vit C with zinc. Also take 6g Evening Primrose Oil - for PMS - also beneficial for skin

I am looking into Sharks Oil Capsules next - arrived today from New Zealand. Supposedly good for immune system and other things.

I really don't know what to do next.
May 17, 2007, 4:46pm   #4
H
Account Deactivated
Maybe you have a canker sore? Jojoba oil is great for everything from skin to hair. Tee Tree oil is also very theraputic for skin. Maybe give that a try.
May 17, 2007, 5:07pm   #5