Home > >

HELP! Contact wearers- accidentally pinched my eye?!

POST A REPLY

Jun 11, 2010, 5:34pm   #1
jordanjordan
Help!

I am new to contacts and the lady at the eye dr place told me not to be shy about pinching them out. The first one I grabbed and it came right out but the second one I pinched and almost got it so I pinched again. Then I realized that I was actually pinching my eye and the contact must have fallen out earlier today.

My vision is fine (well, the same as it was before) from what I can tell and it doesn't hurt it just feels a little weird and is pink. Has anyone else done this before??? I found a few accounts of this on the web but I'm freaking out because I've only had contacts a few days and I'm scared I have messed something up.
Last edited Jun 11, 2010 at 5:53pm.
Jun 11, 2010, 6:36pm   #2
chessmont
I did it once and I suffered no lasting damgage, just a little scratchy feeling for awhile - but I suggest you call your eye dor and ask about it, since you are new to contaces. I have been wearing them for almost 40 years. You will get used to them and won't do this too often, if ever again. I think it only happened to me once. and that was recently because I switched from tinted to clear, so of course with tinted you can tell if the contac is or is not in your eye.
Jun 11, 2010, 7:56pm   #3
jordanjordan
Thanks! I read about some other people doing it so I assume I am not the only one. It's been a few hours and the redness has subsided and I don't feel a thing, so I guess I'm okay. When I did it it was too late to call my eye Dr. so my only choice is to go to an emergency place or wait until my already scheduled appointment next week.

If anyone else has ever done this or has any suggestions or advice I would really appreciate it!
Jun 11, 2010, 10:26pm   #4
k
katica
I've done that before and had no lasting damage. I think you're fine but you should mention it to your dr. for peace of mind.
Jun 11, 2010, 10:30pm   #5
lorihmatthews
Doberhuahua!