Visit our 2014 Holiday Gift Guides
Home > >

Best "do it yourself" hair dye?

POST A REPLY

Dec 25, 2007, 8:02pm   #1
M
More lv please
What's the best brand of "do it yourself" hair dye? Or am I crazy to want to dye my hair myself? My hair's been highlighted for years, but I'm tired of it and want to go back at least close to my natural hair color (brunette). Are there any considerations for dying over highlights? Advice, please!!!
Dec 25, 2007, 8:56pm   #2
Archipelago
I don't have any experience with highlights but I've been dying my own hair for about 6 years. My favorite is Garnier Nutrisse. I use Chocolate Cherry.

If grey hair is a concern, I've heard L'oreal Excellence Cream is good for that.
Dec 25, 2007, 9:19pm   #3
p
priiin
I have used Garnier for my roots which unfortunately grow back pretty quickly. It's great..doesn't have a toxic smell.

L'oreal Excellence Cream doesn't smell very good and it does not give good coverage to greys. My friend who is only 22 has silver hairs already and she tries to dye over them by herself, and L'oreal wouldn't dye over them. They were partially dyed I think. Good luck!
Dec 26, 2007, 2:14am   #4
claireZk
I like Clairol Professional Radiance from Sallys... I use it as a glaze to boost color and shine. I usually mix up 1 part radiance dye with 3 parts clear gloss and 4 parts Radiance developer. But you can customize it any way you want. It's great because it's a "deposit-only" product, meaning it has no ammonia or peroxide so it won't lighten (or damage) hair.

I did serious damage to my hair using drug store dyes so I will never use them again. Plus, I have so much hair that I needed 2-3 boxes each time so it didn't save me any money. I buy big bottles of the developer and clear gloss at Sallys and it ends up costing me <$50/year!
Dec 26, 2007, 3:17am   #5
candace117
Cowpoke