Home The Playground The Kitchen

EMERGENCY!! Is it extremely harmful to eat MOLDY BREAD?!

POST A REPLY

Sep 24, 2008, 8:35pm   #1
T
The Newbie?
I'm a college student and preparing food is such a pain so I'm usually eating sandwiches.

I purchased this bakery's bread and I've had it for a full week. My roommate tossed it out 5 minutes ago saying that it had white mold and even one small spot of green mold.

However, I ate it for dinner an hour ago and I didn't notice that there was mold on the bread! I just noticed a lot of white powder and I had just assumed that it was flour that they use to coat the outside of the bread/crust. I did microwave my sandwich, so I'm hoping that if there was mold, that all of the bacteria was killed.

Has anyone eaten moldy foods and was okay afterwards? I feel like vomiting now!
Sep 24, 2008, 8:42pm   #2
k
No longer in Japan..
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_danger...at_moldy_bread

You should be okay
Sep 24, 2008, 8:42pm   #3
c
I <3 bags!
No need to worry! When I was about 10 years old, I put (what I thought to be chocolate swirled cream cheese) onto my bagel and ate nearly half of it. My mom walked downstairs and caught me eating it and took it away quickly to the trash. Being a kid, I didn't smell the cream cheese beforehand and it wasn't green... it looked exactly like chocolate swirled cream cheese lol. All in all, I was fine afterwards.

Maybe try to drink lots of water to flush your system??
Sep 24, 2008, 8:42pm   #4
l
I don't think it's that big of a deal. You should obviously never eat mold, but it's not necessarily the end of the world if you do. If you eat end up feeling sick for more than a day then go to a doctor.
Sep 24, 2008, 8:43pm   #5
I would have an alcoholic drink to kill whatever bacteria is in your system.
Sep 24, 2008, 9:03pm   #6
You'll be fine. I've eaten mold before (accidentally, of course).
Sep 24, 2008, 9:25pm   #7
T
The Newbie?
Thank you everyone for your help!!!! I was starting to get really worried!